On the Ropes Review

 

Screen Shot 2016-11-22 at 9.38.07 PM.png

Title: On the Ropes

Author: Hallee Bridgeman

Genre: Christian Romance, Suspense

ISBN: 978-1-68190-035-3

About the Book:

Imagine being forced into a witness protection program just because of your connections with the love of your life who happens to be son of the head of the Russian mafia? Well, that is now the life of Dr. Ruth Burnette after accidentally witnessing a horrific crime that cost the life of her twin sister and also her dreams. Now on the run, Ruth has to figure out if she even has a fighting chance against a Russian crime empire.

My Review: 4/5 

This novella surprised me more than I thought it would. This is the first time I read a novel by this author and I was not disappointed. Although I would have to admit some parts in the plot did seem predictable, I was still very engaged throughout the story. I really enjoyed the main character, Ruth’s struggle with her faith and defying her fiancé’s family. I could truly feel Ruth’s pain and understand her fear as she is always on the run. I almost felt that I was running from something as well while reading this. Sometimes the novel felt a little preachy, but I loved seeing how the characters’ rediscovered their faith in such unimaginable circumstances. The romance in the novel also felt pretty realistic although some of the dialogue did seem cheesy after a while. Nevertheless, I was still pinned on reading more because the plot was more than just romance and also had so much intriguing details to it.

So if you want a quick yet heart tugging read, I would definitely recommend this book for you.

 

Special Content: The novella includes a reader guide and also a small recipe cookbook at the end that displays some of recipes mentioned in the novella.

Click HERE to purchase the book on Amazon.

 

*Disclosure of Material
Leave a Reply

